Register of the official Internet sites of the Helvetic Administration and Public Services
F · D · I Mail
The Confederation

Switzerland is a confederation created in 1291. It is now composed of 26 cantons. The federal capital is Bern.

The federal Council and the federal Chancellery form the executive power. Each of the 7 federal councillors directs a department:

  • Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA)
  • Federal Department of Home Affairs (DHA)
  • Federal Department of Justice and Police (DJP)
  • Federal Department of Defence, Civil Protection and Sports (DDPS)
  • Swiss Federal Department of Finance (FDF)
  • Federal Department of Economic Affairs (DEA)
  • Federal Department of Environment, Transport, Energy and Communications (DETEC)
The Parliament, the legislative power, consists of two chambers, the National Council and the Council of States.

The Federal court represents the judicative power.

© 2004 | Impressum | Links | Home